Poetry Challenge on Instagram

Hi there my lovely friends.. how have you been?

For those of us who love to write, specially poets( I humbly consider myself one too),anything and everything can turn into muse, can inspire us. But once in a while, all writers also suffer from what is called writer’s block! One of the worst phases that I have been in. To come out of this dreaded dark place, to inspire oneself, we can always use prompts ( exactly the reason why The Daily Post on WordPress gives Prompts).

Then there are some people who just love being challenged. Completing challenges is an ego-booster for some, while for others it is a confidence booster. I consider myself somewhere between these two categories.

Recently I have taken up one such challenge on Instagram hosted by FallsPoetry. It is a month long challenge in which a list of prompts is given for each day of June in advance. It is called June Falls Poetry Challenge. The prompts given aren’t your usual one words but phrases.

 

_20170609_015752
Prompt list for the challenge

It has been a whole week since and I’m very proud of myself. Why wouldn’t I be!! I have written one poem each day this week, I have expanded my horizons, pushed my limits and tested new waters. It has been such a wonderful and enlightening experience. Earlier it used to take me days or even a whole week to complete one poem, writing slowly, waiting for inspiration to strike me. But now I can happily say that I can write one within an hour or so.. sometimes even less. I’m always inspired.

I don’t know why but I prefer writing long poems, a fact that you may or not have noticed from my poems here on WordPress.. I just can’t write a short one. I keep adding stanzas until there are at least four- the minimum number of stanzas for me. Also, I’m not much a fan of blank verse although I do enjoy some really good ones.

Now, for me,this challenge wasn’t merely about writing. As it was on Instagram- a platform where photos and videos are shared, it was also about being visually effective and how do I interpret the prompts not only in words but also visually. So after I’d write the poem, I also had to search for the perfect background to write it on( I’m sadly a perfectionist when it comes to creativity or work), the perfect font color, font size and stanza arrangements. But the end result gave me utter joy and satisfaction.

Here, I’m sharing my this week’s works(1-7 June) with all of  you, hope you enjoy them. You can also check them out on my Instagram account and like and comment there. You can, in fact, take up this challenge yourself if you want.

Live Link to my Instagram account:Winter_Phoenix92

Live Link to FallsPoetry account: Falls Poetry

IMG_20170602_221837_150
Reality ! Day 1
IMG_20170602_024235_334
THE STORM! Day 2
IMG_20170603_224859_394
STAR-CROSSED HEARTS! Day 3
IMG_20170605_000051_092
HEDONISTIC LIVES! Day 4
IMG_20170606_003238_478
BACK SCATTERED MEMORIES! Day 5
IMG_20170607_003134_318
GARDEN OF SOUNDS! Day 6
20752a2d18f64605078879148f06f4bb
ROSE GOLD ! Day 7

I’ll be back with this week’s poems(8-14 June) next week.

What are your thoughts on these poems? Did you like them, hate them or just about anything you felt…feel free to share with me. I’d love to hear from you guys.

Leave a Reply

